Self-taught bass?

AuthorMessage
franzi
Falling In Love With The Board
franzi
November 24th, 2005 at 10:50am
hiya.
i was just wondering if anyone had taught themselves bass, like from a book..
well if you have, do you have any advice on which book to get? or any adivce on anything else?

thanks
-franzi
thegirlintheband
Jackass
thegirlintheband

Blog
November 24th, 2005 at 12:50pm
i taught myself bass, but i had been playing guitar first. i think the best way to learn and write your own bass stuff is to listen to other bassist, and get tabs and stuff. then you can take different little riffs and put them together. thats what i did. i dont know much about th books tho, sorry!
franzi
franzi
November 24th, 2005 at 01:34pm
thanks Very Happy
christie road
Addict
christie road
November 24th, 2005 at 03:43pm
hm..... i got a bass a week before i started lessons .. but i taught myself in that week (of corse know a little guitar helped)

but i just got tabs (Green Day ones) and learned how to play those

but at you local music store you can get like lesson books and stuff
Gustavatron.
Addict
Gustavatron.
November 25th, 2005 at 02:38am
Bass seems to be the most boring instrument to play without a band O__o
mike27562756
Geek
mike27562756
November 25th, 2005 at 07:06am
I lernt from tab and i couldnt play guitar much before.
Holy Shite
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
Holy Shite
December 11th, 2006 at 10:24pm
Me too is a self-taught bassist, first i played guitar, and turn into a bass.
All i did was hear songs you wanna play, search the tab by yourself (not the internet or things) it should help you a lot with your instinct
Elvis Impersonator
Idiot
Elvis Impersonator
December 12th, 2006 at 06:49am
i'm a self taught bassist, without the help of a book or previous experience on guitar. dont know how, it just came naturally, and i went straight in for my grade 5 after about a year. my dad also plays, so that probably helps
ZootSuitRiot
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
ZootSuitRiot

Blog