DNA issues

AuthorMessage
dysLEXIa
King For A Couple Of Days
dysLEXIa
December 22nd, 2005 at 12:43am
Eh. I figured I'd bring this to the table. I'm studying this in Biology right now. Pretty much, the technology we're headed toward today and in the future, you'll be able to alter your children before they're conseived by DNA (the code of life in your cells). They can prevent hereditary diseases on a certain gender's side or what-not, but then there's always the other side which is my side:

I think things should just go however it goes. It doesnt' matter what my kid looks like, how they perform and all, but as long as they're my kid and have my DNA (are actually related to me and not full of random DNA to improve the performance of the child), then it'll be good. Then there's the question that the child may eventually ask in the future, "Why didn't you fix me when you had the chance?" (if something's wrong). How are you supposed to respond to that?

There are so many things that relate to this. I just thought this would be an interesting topic to bring up....
Faith
Addict
Faith
December 22nd, 2005 at 12:58am
Gattaca
dysLEXIa
dysLEXIa
December 22nd, 2005 at 01:04am
I've heard of that moive. We watched the beginning clip of it in Bio. We're having a test and discussion tomorrow (which we're continueing from today). I want to see that so bad.
Faith
Addict
Faith
December 22nd, 2005 at 02:11am
You really should watch it - it doesn't just show one side of the story, it shows both and just makes you think it all over. It's a great movie.
Poison Fish
Idiot
Poison Fish
December 22nd, 2005 at 02:32am
i've seen that. we watched it for english. and you're right, it shows the good, the bad, and the dangerous sides of DNA evolution and such.
Faith
Addict
Faith
December 22nd, 2005 at 03:13am