Things that new players shouldn't do?

AuthorMessage
mutual_zombie
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
mutual_zombie
January 11th, 2006 at 02:44am
Hokay, I'm just wondering if some people agree with me that new guitar/bass/drum/other instrument players are diving in to things way beyond the basics and/or their abilities... I'm not saying that you are forbidden to do these things, but a few things that new players shouldn't do...

- If you're new to guitar (ie can't play basic chords yet), it's better to leave the electric for a later date and go with an acoustic...
- If you're new to bass, don't start off with picking... get used to the feel of the bass strings, it'll pay off later on
- It's good to set goals, but no use playing songs by your favourite band straight away if it's way out of your league... start with the basics and work your way up

Anyone else agree with me on these?
Jay Tee
Had A Life Before GSB
Jay Tee

Mibba Blog
January 11th, 2006 at 07:35am
Yeah I agree on them, especially the first one. If you learn on acoustic, you can get a real feel for the guitar before you go on to create all these immense effects and sounds. Also, acoustic guitars generally have wider necks so will be much better for practising scales and things like that, making you extend your fingers far enough. Then, when you come to play electric, you'll be good enough to pass.

And try grabbing a guitar book when you start playing; I taught myself using Ultimate Guitar Songbook Volume I which had a load of information and really got me going. And yes, don't jump in at any old song, learn the basics first, even if you don't recognise the songs/tunes you're learning, just practise the chord changes over and over.
Norris
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
Norris
January 11th, 2006 at 09:55am