Blue, aka Billie Joe's Strat

AuthorMessage
turboskratch
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
turboskratch
February 17th, 2006 at 01:53pm
I see a lot of huge GD fans here, but I'm not too sure if the geekiest of the stink breath reside in here. Has anyone made, or attempted to make a replica of BJ's Stratocaster? The original is a Fernandes Stratocaster Copy, with a Seymour Duncan JB Series humbucker pickup installed in the bridge position. This guitar can be heard in 1039/smooth, and kerplunk. Since then he's made many replicas.

Now my question is, if you have, is there an exisiting wiring diagram to install this into a stratocaster? and is the pickup coil tapped?

I built a Fender Stratocaster, and I'm trying to see how hard or easy it is to do billie joe's setup, as well as getting an accurate setup to possibly achieve the signature Green Day twang sound that he gets. I know a lot of it has to do with the custom amp he uses too, but that's damn near impossible to get any information for. I already have the Seymour Duncan JB pickup.. I'm seeing if i should do this myself, or pay a professional to do it.

Any suggestions appreciated!
Prosthetic Head
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
Prosthetic Head
February 17th, 2006 at 02:33pm

try the ultimate-guitar.com forums, they have loads of people building their own guitars. if that's what you're doing. i personally don't have a clue.
Tyler
King For A Couple Of Days
Tyler
February 17th, 2006 at 05:48pm
hey, heres a good idea...

TRY BEING ORIGINAL (caps necessary kthxbye)
k-contentbarrier-
Addict
k-contentbarrier-
February 17th, 2006 at 08:29pm