Helpful Grammar Tips

AuthorMessage
Tre the Cool.
Jackass
Tre the Cool.

Mibba
October 18th, 2006 at 07:42pm
Hmm...there's some things that I didn't know. I will use these tips while I am writing, from now on.
billies_rebel111
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
billies_rebel111
October 30th, 2006 at 02:46am
Hey, I need some help. . .

Say you were to write this:
"Yes, I think I will," said Ned. Bob looked at him before saying 'Yes, I will too.'

Is that right? The underlining going under the '. . .before saying 'Yes, I will too,'. Is that right becuase it just mentions that he says it? or does it not need inverted commas? confusing, i know, but i would greatly appreciate it if i could have some help!

thanx, emily
in_paradise_with_st_jimmy
Falling In Love With The Board

Mibba Blog
October 30th, 2006 at 01:31pm
billies_rebel111:
Hey, I need some help. . .

Say you were to write this:
"Yes, I think I will," said Ned. Bob looked at him before saying 'Yes, I will too.'

Is that right? The underlining going under the '. . .before saying 'Yes, I will too,'. Is that right becuase it just mentions that he says it? or does it not need inverted commas? confusing, i know, but i would greatly appreciate it if i could have some help!

thanx, emily

It all depends on how you are interpreting the statement. If "Yes, I will, too," is just being mentioned, it would be better to write it like this:
"Yes, I think I will," said Ned. Bob said he would, too.

If you are writing it as more of a dialogue, like if Bob is actually saying something and it's not just being mentioned in the the text, then it would be written like this:
"Yes, I think I will," said Ned. Bob looked at him and said, "Yes, I will, too."

OR

"Yes, I think I will," said Ned. Looking at him, Bob said, "Yes, I will, too."
etc. etc