Sex with a minor - Karen Ellis jail sentence

AuthorMessage
lisa1224
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
lisa1224
June 20th, 2005 at 06:20am
Most Australian are familiar with the Karen Ellis story.. if not read on....
Karen Ellis was a high school PE teacher. She had an affair with a boy, who at the alledged time of the affair, was 15. He consented to the affair.. She at first walked free but then there was an appeal and she was sentenced to 22 months.
Was her sentence too weak?
On the other hand, In the mid to late 80's gavin Hopper had sex with a 14 year old girl (she says this wasn't consented to) and he recieved 6 years jail (Ithink). He was convicted only recently.
Was Karen Ellis let off easy because she is a female?
Loudleah
King For A Couple Of Days
Loudleah
June 20th, 2005 at 07:25am
I really dont know
rock00chick
Geek
rock00chick
June 20th, 2005 at 09:13am
there are stories like that everywhere when people aren't put in jail. I think if you commit the crime you should do the time...
War That's In My Mind
Jackass
War That's In My Mind
June 20th, 2005 at 09:17am
yes i think she should of gone to jail thats too weak

its digusting
folkin' around.
folkin' around.
June 20th, 2005 at 09:46am
In america theres this lady named Mary Kay Laturno(sp?) and she was a 6th
grade teacher and she had sex with one of here 11 year old students Villie Valuo(sp?)
anywho they did it a couple times and they were caught
well, she went to jail and she found out she was pregnant and stuff this happend in
the late 90's but anyways she ended up having 2 kids with him. She went to
jail for a couple of years and recently she got out and they also married
in like March or May..can't remember.
wake the dead.
This Board Is My Home
wake the dead.
June 20th, 2005 at 10:20am
lisa1224: