Live 8

AuthorMessage
liquid_dookie
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
liquid_dookie
July 7th, 2005 at 03:17pm
As you know, this past Saturday was the Live 8 concert, many bands, old and new, showed their support for the "One campaign" and "Make Poverty History." Do you think that these concerts can actually make a difference? I do, I see it that the world leaders have no choice now. I live in Canada, and I see Paul Martin is very hesitant at removing the debt from Africa, cuz Canada could go into debt...but I see it as, we're probiably getting little money from Africa anyway...so it's not that bad to remove their debt, also, if Africa ends up becoming debt free, they can start to grow, it's not about our countries here, it's about helping the other ones in need. I, for one support Live 8, not just because Green Day supports it, but because it's a really good cause. So, with that said, post what you think...

P.S. I'm sorry if this post was done already
Pancake Lizard
Geek
Pancake Lizard
July 7th, 2005 at 04:01pm
I strongly doubt that povery will decrease alot...I think that this will defenetly put some impact on the Government, to help distinguish some of the worlds poverty.
Pancake Lizard
Geek
Pancake Lizard
July 7th, 2005 at 04:02pm
I do support it.I signed a petition on it too.I hope that this will all help make some drastic, and positive changes.
no.time.to.kill!*chomp*
Idiot
no.time.to.kill!*chomp*
July 8th, 2005 at 05:31am
They had millions of people sign that petition. I think the way it was marketed was really fantastic too. They had all sorts of performers; old rock, new rock, hip hop, soul, jazz/funk, pop...

it was really great to see these people get up and support the cause, although i was disappointed to hear that they each recieved a goody bag worth $30,000. but still.

and I agree with bob geldof, the g8 cannot ignore 26million names. I think it was a great idea
zdf_jammin
Geek
zdf_jammin
July 8th, 2005 at 11:50am
haha, weeeeeeeeeeeeeee.