Human Cloning

AuthorMessage
Rosey203
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
Rosey203
April 3rd, 2007 at 02:51pm
I'm not for or against it really. I can see why people would be against it, but I can also see what benifits it would have.

I mean, imagine if you had a child who needed say a bone marrow or kidney transplanet, or they would die. Because you don't have to die to give bone marrow or one of your kidneys, the parents and other family members offter to be donars. None of them match. The ill person is put on the list for a transplanet, and everybody hopes that some kind donar will be a match. Nobody who is a match offers to be a donar. The child dies.

If we could make a clone of a person, then that person would have someone who is an exact match to them, and a life would be saved.
*whatshisname*
Geek
*whatshisname*
April 3rd, 2007 at 05:11pm
And what of the new person left behind? What happens to them then? You can't just throw them away, and, similarly, you can't just take them into the family (financial or living conditions or whatever).
You may save a life, but you're also ruining one.
Modest Mouse.
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
Modest Mouse.
April 3rd, 2007 at 10:36pm
You can technically already do that...I can't remember the technical term but it's been dubbed 'designer babies' or 'spare parts babies'. What happens is the doctors take an egg and sperm from the parents, put it together and then edit the DNA, then put the fertilized egg(s) into the Mother, she gets pregnant and then bam, you have a saviour-baby.

I think cloning of anything is a terrible idea, we are getting ourselves mixed up in things that are way out of our depth. We shouldn't be able to clone anything, sure...it can lead to good things, but it could also lead to bad things...making new diseases for one, what if something goes wrong and then you are producing people with huge disabilities and terrible lives.