Talking about religious figures in school.

AuthorMessage
Ol' Blue Eyes.
King For A Couple Of Days
Ol' Blue Eyes.

Mibba
July 25th, 2007 at 07:46pm
I don't honestly see the harm in learning about other religions. In my history class, we went over many Eastern religions, in addition to Catholicism and Judism. Having schools be strictly nonreligios means that kids miss out on a lot, and cannot make informed decisions concerning religion when they get older.

I mean, Jesus did exist. Muhammad did exist. If there is a place for them in the classroom to be discussed objectively, I think they should be discussed.
RunningCirclesRoundU
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
RunningCirclesRoundU
September 27th, 2007 at 06:55am
I think it's important for people to be open to discussion about those thypes of things like polotics and religion, but the teacher shouldn't teach those things because not all people believe in it. I think if you have a mature enough class you can give your opinions and and have disscussion on those things but you can't teach them because not everyone believes in them and it's just asking for trouble.
schooldropout
Banned
schooldropout

Blog
September 27th, 2007 at 10:27am
When I was in school, we talked about religion and politics four days out of five. It caused lots of arguments and when we gave our opinions on something, the teacher thought it was wrong and told us to stop thinking like a pack of wild animals.
lyrical_mess
Falling In Love With The Board
lyrical_mess

Mibba Blog
September 27th, 2007 at 06:39pm
Religious figures usually have important places in history. That is a fact and cannot be denied. They did stuff for people and stirred up shit and had people executed and all sorts of stuff. They're important.

Jesus, Jean Bodin, Mohammad, whoever. They're a part of history and a part of politics. They deserve a place in social science classes and let's face it: we can actually learn from them.
Ol' Blue Eyes.
Ol' Blue Eyes.

Mibba