Is rewarding kids for good grades bribery or motivation?

AuthorMessage
Eve-O
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
Eve-O
December 5th, 2007 at 12:53am
What's so bad about parents paying kids for good grades?
plenty, say some who believe the practice undermines efforts to install in kids everywhere a true appreciation for learning!!! Come on people what's a little money going to do? some say that a little push is all you need for the bid leap, others say that it makes kids think that, thats where their big income will be forever more what do' ya think?
Macfadyen
Basket Case
Macfadyen
December 5th, 2007 at 01:52am
Whether it be bribery or motivation, I don't see what's bad about it. In the end, it's getting your kids to work harder and earn better grades.
Kids don't understand the importance of learning. If a little bribery is what it takes to keep them from ruining their future, then why not? Besides, I don't see it as any different from giving a kid a golden star sticker for getting an answer right, or letting them watch TV after they finished studying.
JOOLS
Addict
JOOLS

Mibba Blog
December 5th, 2007 at 02:08am
^^^ I'm going to have to agree.
I don't think bribery comes into affect until you start altering a person's mind to suit your own life. With children it's just hard, because, as stated, they don't see how much they'll need education. So to me, while they're young, it's motivation.
The Doctor
Falling In Love With The Board
The Doctor

Mibba Blog
December 5th, 2007 at 02:00pm
I never had this!

Well, I get EMA so I guess that motivates me to actually turn up to school every day. But I get nothin' for gettin' good grades. Just the good feeling of boasting-while-pretending-to-be-shy-about-it is good enough. And getting apologies from teachers who said I would fail. That's a good feeling.
Sherlock
Board Parasite
Sherlock
December 5th, 2007 at 02:09pm
Its called conditioning. Cassie