American Idiot - Albums

American Idiot

Release date: September 20th, 2004
Producer: Green Day and Rob Cavallo
Record company: Reprise Records

Song list

  1. American Idiot
  2. Jesus of Suburbia
  3. Holiday
  4. Boulevard of Broken Dreams
  5. Are We the Waiting
  6. St. Jimmy
  7. Give Me Novacaine
  8. She's a Rebel
  9. Extraordinary Girl
  10. Letterbomb
  11. Wake Me Up When September Ends
  12. Homecoming
  13. Whatsername


Green Day's first and only concept album containing 5 chart-topping hits: the title track American Idiot, Boulevard of Broken Dreams, Holiday, Wake Me Up When September Ends and Jesus Of Suburbia.

American Idiot tells the story of a young man (Jesus Of Suburbia) living in a time where media is bias and "redneck" political leaders run the show. JOS becomes frustrated with his life and what's going on around him and he decides to hit the streets in search of a better life. After living on the streets for a while, he's feeling lonely and continuing to lose hope. He finally meets street-smart St Jimmy and a girl, Whatsername, whom he falls madly in love with. Things started to look up for JOS for a while. Times were good until Whatsername broke his heart and St Jimmy commited suicide. He decides that he hasn't found the better life he was searching for out on the streets and goes back home to find a job and conform to a normal way of life. Even after he returns home he thinks back to the times he spent on the streets and wonders what Whatsername is up to, while trying to forget.

American Idiot has recieved rave reviews and is considered by many to be Green Day's masterpiece. It shows that there is no limit to what Green Day is capable of.

Site info | Contact | F.A.Q. | Privacy Policy

2024 ©