Kerplunk - Albums


Release date: January 6th, 1992
Producer: Green Day and Andy Ernst
Record company: Lookout! Records

Song list

  1. 2000 Light Years Away
  2. One for the Razorbacks
  3. Welcome to Paradise
  4. Christie Road
  5. Private Ale
  6. Dominated Love Slave
  7. One of My Lies
  8. 80
  9. Android
  10. No One Knows
  11. Who Wrote Holden Caulfield
  12. Words I Might Have Ate
  13. Sweet Children
  14. Best Thing in Town
  15. Strangeland
  16. My Generation


Early 90's were stressed for the band due to its beginning and getting to know the punk scene. Plus, right after 1,039/Smoothed Out Slappy Hours was released, Green Day's first drummer, John Kiffmeyer aka. Al Sobrante, whose longing for a knowledge prevailed and he had chosen a college, quit the band leaving his place to Tre Cool. His knacks for playing drums and also setting them on fire amazed Billie Joe and Mike and a simple guy from The Lookouts teamed up with them. Together they created Kerplunk. Eventhough they were only in their early 20's, they knew excatly what they were doing. Like they were sending the message to the world: 'Maybe we're still kids but we're gonna get you sometime soon!' So be it. And it was. Since they weren't on a major record label, they didn't release any singles, but 2,000 Light Years Away, a beautiful I-miss-you-and-I-want-you-here song, with a punk energy and a pop melody at the same time was a pretty big hit from this album.

#13 to #16: released on Sweet Children EP

Site info | Contact | F.A.Q. | Privacy Policy

2024 ©