Rock Star Dad

AuthorMessage
Sherlock
Board Parasite
Sherlock
November 19th, 2007 at 01:25pm
Billie is not necessarily talking about himself or his own point of view in a lot of his lyrics. He has said in various interviews that the song that particular lyric was taken from was written based on the observations he had made on the type of young people today that don't bother earning a living or trying to make something of themselves, they just rely on being spoonfed everything from their rich parents.

He has also stated that he wants his boys to be normal, down to earth, hard-working young men with morals and values. I really don't think he'll let them sit around waiting for his fortune.
whatsername_stjimmy
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
whatsername_stjimmy
May 10th, 2008 at 06:44pm
Onstage + like 'Rock-star' (for want of a better description) Billie Joe would be a completely different person to Dad Billie Joe-kinda like an alter-ego, cept less drastic. He's said it himself, didnt he? or at least i think he did? I read something like that in the book about Green Day by mark spitz that I forget the full name of and couldnt be bothered looking to see!
Disappearing Girl 16
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
Disappearing Girl 16
May 13th, 2008 at 02:29pm
I read somewhere that he said he doesn't actually set rules for his kids. He just gives them guidelines on how to live and also that he wants to teach his sons to be sensitive and not some idiotic "macho" dude.
The D-Cup Wonder!!
King For A Couple Of Days
The D-Cup Wonder!!

Mibba
May 19th, 2008 at 02:45pm
whatsername_stjimmy:
Onstage + like 'Rock-star' (for want of a better description) Billie Joe would be a completely different person to Dad Billie Joe-kinda like an alter-ego, cept less drastic. He's said it himself, didnt he? or at least i think he did? I read something like that in the book about Green Day by mark spitz that I forget the full name of and couldnt be bothered looking to see!

Book's called 'Nobody Likes You'. Wink