Under Great White Northern Lights

Under Great White Northern Lights is the new documentary by The White Stripes that came out a few weeks ago. I got the special box set which includes 2 DVD's, (one is the documentary and the other is a concert) a CD, (live tracks) a double vinyl LP, (same live tracks as CD) a 7'' single, (more live tracks) and a 208 page book containing photos of their 2007 tour.

I'm a huge White Stripes fan, I'm so glad I own this. I pre-ordered it back in December so I also got a White Stripes holiday card sent to me and 3 free downloads of never before released live tracks. I'm not sure if the box set is still available, I think you can only buy the documentary in stores but I might be wrong.


The documentary is really cool. You follow Jack and Meg as they travel across Canada on their 2007 tour for their last album "Icky Thump". I found out lots of things I didn't know about them. I never knew Meg White is extremely quiet, she hardly speaks during the entire documentary and when she does her voice is so quiet that they had to put subtitles to understand what she says. I thought it was really cool that throughout their entire tour of Canada they did live shows during the day. They would give people about 10 minutes notice where they would be playing. If you were lucky enough to hear about it you got to see them play for free which I thought was awesome. They would play from people's front porches to bowling alleys to ferries! The documentary also includes parts of their live concert which is in it's entirety on a separate DVD.

The live concert is titled "Under Nova Scotian Lights". I think this concert is great. I think any White Stripes fan will really enjoy watching it. Here is the set list:

1. Bagpipe Intro
2. Let's Shake Hands
3. Icky Thump / When I Hear My Name
4. Icky Thump
5. Hotel Yorba
6. Jolene
7. Cannon - John the Revelator
8. Death Letter
9. I'm Slowly Turning Into You
10. Apple Blossom / One More Cup of Coffee / I Think I Smell a Rat
11. Wasting my Time
12. 300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues
13. I Fought Piranhas
14. Lafayette Blues
15. Fell in Love With a Girl
16. Aluminum
17. Do
18. Astro - Screwdriver
19. Black Math
20. In The Cold Cold Night
21. Lord Send me an Angel
22. Catch Hell Blues
23. A Martyr For my Love For You
24. My Doorbell
25. We Are Going to be Friends
26. I'm Finding it Harder to be a Gentleman / Why Can't You be Nicer to Me / You're Pretty Good Looking (For a Girl)
27. Hello Operator / Prickly Thorn But Sweetly Worn
28. Dead Leaves And The Dirty Ground
29. You Don't Know What Love Is (You Just do as Your Told)
30. Seven Nation Army
31. De Ballit Of De Boll Weevil
32. Bagpipe Outro / Instrumental

The three songs I got to download for free that I mentioned earlier are tracks from this concert. They are "A Martyr For My Love For You", "Hotel Yorba", and "Hello Operator".

Most of the tracks on the CD and vinyl are from this concert. It's all songs from their 2007 tour put together, it sounds like it's all from one concert. An "*" will indicate that it is from the concert "Under Nova Scotian Lights". Here is the track listing :

1. Let's Shake Hands *
2. Black Math *
3. Little Ghost
4. Blue Orchid
5. The Union Forever
6. Ball and Biscuit
7. Icky Thump *
8. I'm Slowly Turning Into You *
9. Jolene *
10. 300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues *
11. We Are Going to be Friends *
12. I Just Don't Know What to do With Myself
13. Prickly Thorn But Sweetly Worn *
14. Fell in Love With a Girl *
15. When I Hear my Name
16. Seven Nation Army *

The live 7" single has "Icky Thump" on one side and "The Wheels on The Bus" on the other side.

Here's a little preview of Under Great White Northern Lights :

If you took the time to read this I thank you. If you don't own this already I hope I have encouraged you to get it.


Posted on March 31st, 2010 at 12:19am


Post a comment

You have to log in before you post a comment.

Site info | Contact | F.A.Q. | Privacy Policy

2024 © GeekStinkBreath.net