Toddler Abducted In Portugal

AuthorMessage
Biffy Clyro
Basket Case
Biffy Clyro
May 13th, 2007 at 03:29pm
What's irritating me right now is how frequently the Portuguese police keep fleeting from one potential abductor to another and now to this couple. I can understand that the wealth of information coming in might make it hard to discern what is accurate from what is not, however I hope they are right about this "couple" that are now reportedly the suspects. Though that part of the reason for looking for them was because they were seen "at a service station with an unco-operative child" isn't exactly encouraging because a lot of young children are prone to "playing up" for lack of a better phrase. Lets just hope they find who is responsible and the little lass comes home.
PentatonicA
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
PentatonicA
May 13th, 2007 at 07:21pm
Anji:

The only thing that parents do wrong is trusting people. Their children, society, possibly neighbours, the community. The world isn't that bad. There is however, that 99.99% of a child abduction. It's unfortunate because 100% of that 0.01% get broadcasted and everyone gets all paranoid about it. The news uses the image of a perfectly normal suburban life family, with a soccer mum and nine to five dad to convey an idea that even a perfectly ordinary family can suffer such an ordeal. This message gets misinterpreted into every perfectly ordinary family can suffer such an ordeal. And all this paranoia and hype starts to build up.

I've already mentioned it on another thread, but this is sorat like Hobbesian analysis, with child abduction. In the end families will get so paranoied that no one will be able to live without fear anymore.

Someone aptly said: “just because I'm paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to get me! “ or in other words suffering aragnophobia won't exempt you from the fact that someday you might be bitten by a spider regardless of how careful you are.