Anyone notice something about girls in bands?

AuthorMessage
Chipper
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
Chipper
September 28th, 2006 at 11:03pm
GreenDay420:
The Open Door.:
Evanescence

Massive.

Others; Nightwish, Within Temptation, Lacuna Coil, Paramore [even though they are pretty different from the former]

They're all doing pretty well.

yes, there are a few that has a chick in the band, but just a few. and in most cases (as above) she is the singer of the band. and the rets of the band is usually ignored and the attention is focused only on the singer. so it's like her and the backing music. it's odd really.

like imagine a case. it seems as though a female can't replace a member of an all dude band. let's see. err how bout dragonforce. if herman li was suddenly replaced by a female shredder, they won't be as popular i'm thinking.

so all in all, it's apparent that guys are dominant over girls in the 'rock' music industry. i don't agree with it, but it's quite the fact.

well said Clap
Fever_and_Mirrors
Geek
Fever_and_Mirrors
October 1st, 2006 at 05:24pm
Um....what about SLEATER-KINNEY??!!? (even tho they broke up...they were a major breakthrough in the indie-punk scene for 11 years!)
Or LE TIGRE or BIKINI KILL!!?!? <<Kathleen Hanna
Joan Jett??? The whole Riot Grrrl scene??

Although I do agree that the music world is male-dominated, you cannot deny women have been some of the most influencial people in the music world.

Nowadays, i think (some) girls are more obsessed with the hottness of the band members than the music itself.

Or they think that it'd be cool to be in a band or be a rock star or w/e but never take the time to follow through and take lessons or try to find others that have the same dream.