Is Religion The Root Of All Evil?

AuthorMessage
ChloeJayne
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
ChloeJayne
December 1st, 2008 at 11:17pm
Bloodraine:
Frodo Baggins:
But if you believe that the bible is the word of God. then how can you justify not believing in this one particular part of it, and not others?

Nobody can follow the whole Bible. It's physically impossible. Therefore, I think people who pick and choose which bits to follow have the right idea; of course, there are always going to be those who say you can't pick and choose with a revealed text but in this case, when following the whole thing is just not viable, what else can people do, really?

I think this is a Marilyn Manson quote, but people just pick the lie they like best. If it works for them, then great.

Well It is kind of impossible to follow the whole Bible. But how's that to say if you do one thing wrong, you can't spend eternity with God in heaven? that's why Jesus came down for our sins, to wipe us clean, so that if we believe in Christ, and allow Him into our lives, we can spend eternity in heaven.
The Bible actually says that not accepting Jesus, and blaphsmemy is the biggest sin.
Sherlock
Board Parasite
Sherlock
December 2nd, 2008 at 08:05am
Geevampire:
As the bible doesn't exactly say it's WRONG.

It says it's wrong to sleep with someone of the same sex as that was designed for man and woman. But you can't exactly help who you love. I
You just contradicted yourself.
Bleach
Rotting On Here
Bleach
December 2nd, 2008 at 10:01am
Bleach:
Miley Cyrus:
well, that's pretty much the new testament.
and the book of romans is quite nice, if you were interested in what christianity is supposed to be, i'd read that
hmm, interesting, I see. I'm still not getting how God changed his ways and such.
I was considering getting a copy of some religious books.. the Quran, Old/New Test, bible, pagan, etc.
so I'll check that out \o/
I got a a book about Islam yesterday \o/
Sylar
Falling In Love With The Board
Sylar