Does the Media corrupt young people?

AuthorMessage
Nine_Inch_Nails
Falling In Love With The Board
Nine_Inch_Nails
August 28th, 2005 at 01:15pm
I can see both sides. On one hand, young people read teenage magazines and watch soaps and stuff, and want to be just like the people they see there, and will go to all lengths to be like them.
One the other hand, some people are stronger than that and it doesn't affect them at all.
What are your views on it?
xxdearly_belovedxx
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
xxdearly_belovedxx
August 28th, 2005 at 08:59pm
i think i'm 50/50 on this issue.

yep, it's true, some youth (or whatever!) do strive to become like those stuff they see on TV... sext bodies... perfect hair... perfect everything. and the sex. yep. that poisons... us.

and on the other hand... there are some inspiring.. stuff...

i'm not good at this stuff.
Spirit Of '77
Spirit Of '77
August 28th, 2005 at 10:43pm
isn't the POINT of the media for it to influence people?
ExtraodinaryGirl
Jackass
ExtraodinaryGirl
August 29th, 2005 at 01:42am
It depends on the person. Some people can watch TV and read magazines and go to New York and Paris fashion shows and be totally unaffected, then there are the people who feel like they need to be a part of something. They're the ones who are influenced. They're the ones who hate Bush because Eminem and Green Day do.
Rowley
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
Rowley
August 29th, 2005 at 03:55am
Anyone who tries to have the same life as someone in a soap is doomed.
Gilly the Goldfish
Jackass
Gilly the Goldfish
August 29th, 2005 at 10:27am
The media gives people a view that they want to be accepted, at the end of the day if you want to accept it it's up to you....they're trying to plant ideas,whether you agree with it or not isn't up to them......you may share their opinion or you may not, the media is no different to people telling you stuff...
Ninja_of_Suburbia
Geek
Ninja_of_Suburbia
August 29th, 2005 at 11:56am