Veganism/vegetarianism

AuthorMessage
kirstinlette
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
kirstinlette
May 29th, 2009 at 10:29pm
Also, when most people hear the word 'vegetarian', they think that the person being talked about is compassionate torwards animals. It doesn't mean they ARE compassionate torwards animals, like in your friend's case, but compassion is what the word implies.
iViva la Andrea!
Geek
iViva la Andrea!
May 31st, 2009 at 03:44pm
kirstinlette:
Also, when most people hear the word 'vegetarian', they think that the person being talked about is compassionate torwards animals. It doesn't mean they ARE compassionate torwards animals, like in your friend's case, but compassion is what the word implies.

No. The word implies not eating dead animals.

Many people are vegetarian for health or environmental reasons.

The fact that you're "appalled" by vegetarians who are, well, vegetarians, is strange to be. I'm a vegetarian. I'm not vegan. I eat chocolate. I eat eggs. If that offends you, perhaps you should open your mind a bit?
kirstinlette
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
kirstinlette
May 31st, 2009 at 08:51pm
Aside from one or two people, everyone I've ever told that I was a vegetarian automatically thought that I was an animal lover. Although it's true, for all they knew I could be a dog fighter who is vegetarian for enviromental reasons.
I see no reason to open up my mind to ways of life that directly support the abuse, suffering, mutilation, and ultimate slaughter of any creature.
Like I tell everyone who asks me about why I'm a vegetarian, "When you actually realize how your food got to your plate, and when you honestly know how many antibiodics, maggots, and fillers are in your food... you won't have to ask me that question again."
Sherlock
Board Parasite
Sherlock
June 1st, 2009 at 05:51pm
Dude, I don't see how free range eggs are supporting the 'abuse, suffering, mutilation, and ultimate slaughter of any creature'.
Trusty Chords.
Jackass
Trusty Chords.

Blog