Music Piracy

AuthorMessage
PanicOfBeliever
Shoot Me, I'm A Newbie
PanicOfBeliever
January 25th, 2006 at 01:03pm
Aha, I just picked up my copy of Pc plus and found a very interesting article.
In Frane they are pushing to BAN people ripping cds to their computer and BAN them from backing up their personal DVDS, out of fear of piracy.

The article then goes on to prove that Piracy helps in the industry making music more popular. For example they tried to ban keyboards that kep the notes fearing sheet music sales woukd drop, in fact they skyrocketed.
Next they tried to ban radio fearing it would destroy live music, it has helped it.
It lists more thing in the article, but the message is clear. Downloading music in another of these things. Like Napster doubled albumsales when it first came out, downloading now will do the same.

The french government has caved in to Big company pressure, who fear dwindling profits, those like sony who infect your system with a rootkit in order to stop us doig something we have a right to do.
Their insercurities are misplaced, and ignorant.
Lucifers Angel
King For A Couple Of Days
Lucifers Angel
January 25th, 2006 at 02:10pm
PanicOfBeliever:
Aha, I just picked up my copy of Pc plus and found a very interesting article.
In Frane they are pushing to BAN people ripping cds to their computer and BAN them from backing up their personal DVDS, out of fear of piracy.

The article then goes on to prove that Piracy helps in the industry making music more popular. For example they tried to ban keyboards that kep the notes fearing sheet music sales woukd drop, in fact they skyrocketed.
Next they tried to ban radio fearing it would destroy live music, it has helped it.
It lists more thing in the article, but the message is clear. Downloading music in another of these things. Like Napster doubled albumsales when it first came out, downloading now will do the same.