Dress codes

AuthorMessage
Cecilia
Had A Life Before GSB
Cecilia
October 1st, 2009 at 02:46pm
iViva la Andrea!:
I have.
They don't even begin to explain how saying "be unique, look like everybody else" isn't hypocrisy.
They don't even begin to address that harassment doesn't disappear if two people are wearing the same outfit.
They don't even begin to explain how making everybody dress the same encourages tolerance, respect, and multiple forms of individuality.

So?
What does it have to do with what I've told you?
School is school. You have an uniform, for the reason I explained. What you wear outside of school is your choice. Wear whatever you want.
But when you enter in a "community" (school, work, church etc...), you have rules and codes to follow. Some are more rigorous than others, but that's how it works.
I used to have a pink and black mohawk, with lots of "punk-ish" clothes and piercings. I now work as an analyst - programmer, and I'm in contact with businessmen, executives and such 'cause they contact me to make software or whatever. When I show them the final project, I've to be credible so they buy my stuff instead of someone else's.
So I dropped the crazy hairstyle and clothes for something more professional. It doesn't mean I have no personnality. Just that I grew up, I guess, and also that I've found something else other than clothes to express it.
iViva la Andrea!
Geek
iViva la Andrea!
October 1st, 2009 at 03:04pm
"If you define your freedom of self expression as being able to wear whatever t-shirt you want, then it doesn't say much about your personality on the inside if you're judging how unique someone is by what they wear."
If you want to pretend appearance is not a form of self-expression, you are living in serious denial.

"It doesn't. Harassment will occur everywhere, uniform or not."
My point exactly. What I'm trying to figure out is why some people are denying that, but said people will not give me a reason.